Work featured in Contemporary Art Magazine

I’m going to ramble for a bit here first…

I’ve been doing a bit of an about face in life as of late.  Realizing that many things are different than how I have perceived them to be.  One example is that I have never perceived myself as being famous.  But a singer I will be photographing in a week happened to tell me the reaction he got from the local paper when he told them “his photographer” (aka, me) was going to be there.  They definitely knew who I was.  I looked back at just how often that has happened.  In fact most any time I introduce myself to someone the response is “I’ve heard of you” or “I’ve seen your work.”  So perhaps I’m just a bit more famous than I thought.

The next deals with when I had to write the artist’s statement to go with this work at Saatchi Art.  What is wanted is the meaning, the motivation behind the work.  I always think there isn’t one, that I just wanted to create something beautiful and there was nothing more to it than that.  Working on it I realized just how deep the motivation runs, how passionate I am about my work, and how much it matters to me.  In fact, I am deeply offended by crappy photography that lacks such values.

So, here is the artist’s statement that goes with this work at Saatchi… the piece that was featured in Contemporary Art Magazine:

We live in different worlds. There is the world that we all share, and the world each of us holds to ourselves. It is our own personal world, one that we hold dear. We often protect it from the harsh realities and criticisms of the “real” world. This private world of the individual has always drawn me to it.

It is our dreams, ambitions, secret desires, and, yes, our fears. It is what we don’t let others see. It is ourselves. And that is the thing I always seek to bring forth and capture in my work.

This series is held together by one thread… how clearly you can see the world he is in during the moment is his own.

It was in writing this I realized how often, and in how many different situations I seek out that personal world of the subject, often with the subject completely unaware of that fact. An example of this was when I photographed Mario Domínguez beside his formula car, deep in thought, the evening before the Grand Prix race.  It was in that moment you could see all of the mental effort required to overcome the fear, doubt and anticipation of what was to occur on the track.  It was my favorite photo of the 5 day event.

The title of this work is “Moment Alone”

Mark Stout

Moment Alone, a fine art photo, copyright Mark Stout, All rights reserved

Leave a Reply

